The Cost Guide · Houston
How Much Does It Cost to Join a Houston Country Club?
A plain-English look at initiation fees, monthly dues, and public green fees across 22 Houston-area clubs and courses — aggregated from public sources, with every figure linked to where it came from.
How to read these numbers
Private clubs rarely publish pricing, so the initiation and dues figures below are reported, approximate, and often dated — drawn from public listings and member forums, paraphrased, and linked to their sources. They are not official quotes. Public course green fees change daily with tee time and season. Confirm anything important directly with the club.
Private clubs — initiation & dues
One-time initiation plus ongoing monthly dues. Sorted from lowest reported initiation. All figures reported/approximate.
| Club | Initiation (reported) | Monthly dues (reported) | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sweetwater Country Club Sugar Land · Private |
reportedly ~$2,500–$10,000 (varies by type) | reportedly ~$500/month (~$5,000–$10,000/yr) + ~$2,000 annual F&B minimum | ★★★★☆ 3.5 |
| Northgate Country Club Houston · Private |
reportedly ~$2,500–$10,000 (third-party estimate, varies by type) | reportedly ~$400–$500/month (third-party estimate) | — |
| The Houstonian Club Houston · Private |
reportedly ~$10,000–$45,000 + tax by tier | varies by tier & family size; not fully disclosed | ★★★★★ 4.5 |
| Willow Fork Country Club Katy · Semi-Private |
reportedly ~$10,000–$20,000 (unofficial) | reportedly ~$500–$1,000/month (~$6,000–$12,000/yr, unofficial) | ★★★★☆ 3.7 |
| Golfcrest Country Club Pearland · Private |
reportedly ~$10,000–$25,000 (third-party estimate) | reportedly ~$400–$850/month full golf (third-party estimate) | ★★★★☆ 4.0 |
| Golf Club of Houston Humble · Semi-Private |
reportedly ~$10,000–$25,000 (third-party estimate) | reportedly ~$5,000–$10,000/yr (third-party estimate) | — |
| Champions Golf Club Houston · Private |
reportedly ~$17,000 resident (+ ~$8,000 stock); other sources cite up to ~$50,000 | reportedly ~$670–$1,000/month | ★★★★★ 4.5 |
| BraeBurn Country Club Houston · Private |
reportedly ~$25,000–$50,000 full golf (~$10,000 junior/under-35) | reportedly ~$378/month plus assessments | ★★★★☆ 4.4 |
| The Briar Club Houston · Private |
reportedly ~$35,000 | reportedly ~$400/month | ★★★★☆ 4.4 |
| The Woodlands Country Club The Woodlands · Private |
reportedly ~$40,000 limited golf / ~$65,000 full golf (third-party estimate) | reportedly ~$8,000–$12,000/yr (third-party estimate) | — |
| Lakeside Country Club Houston · Private |
reportedly ~$50,000+ full / ~$15,000 junior (older estimates) | reportedly ~$1,000+/month (older estimates) | ★★★★☆ 4.3 |
| River Oaks Country Club Houston · Private |
reportedly ~$75,000–$125,000 (unofficial estimate) | reportedly ~$1,000–$2,000/month (unofficial estimate) | ★★★★☆ 4.0 |
| Houston Country Club Bunker Hill Village · Private |
reportedly ~$75,000 (dated ~2019 estimate) | reportedly ~$700/month (dated ~2019 estimate) | ★★★★☆ 4.2 |
| Lochinvar Golf Club Houston · Private |
reportedly ~$75,000–$100,000 (estimate) | reportedly ~$300–$600/month (estimate) | ★★★★☆ 4.4 |
| Bay Oaks Country Club Houston · Private |
reportedly ~$100,000–$150,000 (third-party estimate) | reportedly ~$1,000–$1,500/month (third-party estimate) | — |
| The Downtown Club at the Met Houston · Private |
Not disclosed | reportedly ~$160/month athletic (about ~$260/month with tennis) | ★★★★☆ 4.3 |
| Kingwood Country Club Kingwood · Private |
not publicly disclosed (quoted on inquiry) | reportedly from ~$200–$320/month for fitness/social/racquet; full golf not disclosed | ★★★☆☆ 3.4 |
Also in our directory, with pricing not publicly available: Walden on Lake Conroe Golf Club. Membership costs are shared privately by these clubs on request.
Public & daily-fee courses — green fees
No membership required — pay per round. Sorted from lowest starting green fee.
| Course | Green fees (public) | Rating |
|---|---|---|
| Memorial Park Golf Course Houston · Public |
Residents ~$30 weekday / $38 weekend (as low as $21 twilight, $10 junior); non-residents ~$120 weekday / $140 weekend (~$90 twilight). Cart ~$20 extra. | ★★★★☆ 4.1 |
| BlackHorse Golf Club Cypress · Public |
roughly $60–$90 weekday/twilight up to $120–$185 weekend/prime (cart included) | ★★★★☆ 4.2 |
| Wildcat Golf Club Houston · Public |
Weekday ~$79 AM / $64 PM / $52 twilight; Friday ~$105 / $89 / $69; Weekend ~$125 AM / $89 PM / $69 twilight. Cart included; junior/senior discounts. | ★★★★☆ 3.7 |
| Cypresswood Golf Club Spring · Public |
The Tradition: $81 weekday / $108 weekend (as low as $51 weekday super-twilight, $61 weekend super-twilight). The Cypress: $57 weekday / $72 weekend (as low as $37 weekday super-twilight, $47 weekend super-twilight). | — |
Common questions
Pricing is aggregated from public sources and may be inaccurate or out of date. Nothing here is financial or membership advice. Ratings combine moderated member reviews and summarized public sentiment. See our Terms.